Posted in Countdown, Life in Second City, Page, Rambling

What song would you consider to be the soundtrack of your life?

Out of the four people in NEWS, who sang 恋を知らない君へ as I mentioned earlier in my 30 days Music Challenge, one of them can’t sing, one can just about get away with it (He has the looks, he has the brain and he can cook, he can be excused for not being perfect) and there are two who can REALLY sing.

Tegomass.

They are like a sub-unit in NEWS, and they have held their own tours, and released their own albums, because they can REALLY sing.

Their first song is about Miso Soup, and in every single one of the Teogmassu Tours, they have ride in a miso soup bowl with a pair of chopsticks during the song.
It’s iconic.

Their second song is called Kiss ~ Kaerimichi no Love Song (~キッス〜帰り道のラブソング〜), which means “Kiss ~ The Love Song on the way home”.

If you read the lyrics on its own, it’s so sappy and it’s so sweet that you think you’d rot your teeth just reading those words, let alone saying it out loud.
The melody sounds so innocent and it makes you feel like it’s going to be forever.

These are my favourite parts:

どんな君もどんな時も受け止めるから
もしも 心が傷ついて涙こぼれる時は
世界中を敵にしても君を守るよ
I LOVE YOU
言葉はいらないよ 君が最後のキッス
いつまでも

Whatever you, whatever, I’ll awlays catch hold of you
If your heart hurts and tears fall
Even if all the world turns into your enemies, I’ll protect you
I LOVE YOU
Words are unncessary, you’re my last kiss
Forever

無邪気な素顔のまま君は言う
「ねぇ、おばあちゃんになってもキスしてくれるの?」
ねぇ その時には僕だって同じだよ
繋いだ手離しはしないから

With your innocent and honest face you asked,
“If I turned into an old lady, are you still going to kiss me”
When that time comes, it’s still the same for me
I’ll keep holding your hands and won’t let go

The everlasting love.
The old couple that still hold each other’s hands and kiss each other.
That’s what real love is.
It makes me believe that real love is still out there.
Naive, I know, but there’s no life if there is no hope.
Like the story of the Pandora box.
She let the evil of humanity out – disease and poverty, misery, death and sadness, but she shut the lid just in time and left hope inside.
That’s why humanity has everything evil, but everybody still have hope.

P.S. When NEWS First debut, their name meant “every direction of the world – North, East, West, South”. Now, they are Newscaster (Koyama – the one that can’t sing), Entertainer (Tegoshi, one half of Tegomass), Writer (Shige, the one who can just about get away with it, with the looks, the brain and the cooking skills, plus four published novels AND a column in two magazines) and Stylist (Massu, who is the other half of Tegomass… and dressed them all for their tours).