Posted in Countdown, Page, Rambling

What song makes you want to dance?

I am not really a dancing person unless it’s following the routine (Michael Jackson, Backstreet Boys and *NYSNC, most of the Johnny’s boybands that only requires you to do 80% waist up movement and 20% leg moves) but when I first heard Uptown Funk by Mark Ronson and Bruno Mars, I couldn’t help but start bouncing along.

I am very picky about what I listen to, and if I don’t like it I won’t listen to it again (unless I have to).
I have a massive music collection for someone who doesn’t work in music… at least that’s what I think?
When I sent off my HDD to be recovered by my friend, he said I have a massive music collection, so I don’t think it’s THAT small.
60% of the songs are in English, 30% is Japanese and 10% is Chinese.
Which is very weird (the bit about me having more Japanese music than Chinese music).

Anyway, that’s not the point.

I thought Uptown Funk was one of those songs that I really did think in the beginning that it’s overrated.
Yes, it is.
It’s got a good beat and it’s got repetative lyrics that makes you remember the song like there is no tomorrow.
One of those brainwashing songs.
However, because of the good beat and the fact that the music video is so entertaining, I find myself moving along every time I heard it.
And I do love the line “Stop! Wait a minute. Fill my cup put some liquor in it”.
However.
There was a meme previously about “stop”, and I can totally relate to it.

When someone says “STOP”, I never know if it’s in the name of Love, Hammer Time or if I am supposed to collaberate and listen, or if I should drop, shut’em down, open up shop.
And now I have to add “wait a minute, fill my cup, put some liquor in it” to the list.

Life is so difficult.