Posted in Countdown, Page

What song that was on no. 1 when you were born?

There are some variations on that one when I look it up.
For UK, it was Stevie Wonder’s “I Just Called To Say I Love You”.
Billboard number one was Wham! “Freedom”.
Japan Oricon number one was “Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge” by Koizumi Kyoko.
I can’t find the official song that was number one in Hong Kong, but various websites all points at a song called “Love in Late Autumn” by Alan Tam.

“I Just Called To Say I Love You” is a classic. I really don’t know anybody who doesn’t really know the this song.
As for “Freedom”, it’s also a classic, but when it comes to Wham!, people will automatically think of “Wake me up before you Go-go” before “Freedom” (at least I know I will).
And “Careless Whisper” is a George Michael solo song, even though Andrew Ridgeley co-wrote it.
The Japanese one is a weird one – I know who Koizumi Kyoko is, she is still very much acting (and there was a rumour about her dating a guy who is at least half her age) and singing every now and then. She has been regarded as one of the most popular and successful female entertainer of all time in Japan (who is not dead yet).
As for the Cantonese song – I don’t think anybody in Hong Kong (or people who speaks Cantonese) doesn’t know the song. It’s one of the rare songs in Hong Kong that was taken from the Korean (South) rather than the Japanese (back in the 80s, Hong Kong music are mostly dominated by songs from Japan, but with lyrics in Cantonese). It’s a nice song, and if you can read Chinese, the lyrics are quite meaningful and it doesn’t have the bittersweet feeling to it.

Here are the songs:
I Just Called To Say I Love You
Freedom
Yamato Nadeshiko Shichi Henge (I can only find a live version of the song)
Love in Late Autumn