Posted in Life in Second City, Rant, travelling

Exact change not stated

I took the bus from home to the train station.

The second city bus system is run by a private company (and shit one for that matter) and I have already made a complaint once, where I was stuck for hours upon hours and no bus turned up and I missed my dinner plans and I didn’t get back until late.

It hit another new low today.

I was the second person to get on the bus, and the previously lady only £10 note and the driver was being sarcastic already. I only had a £20 note and he actually said “seriously” at me (I need to get a £3.30 ticket, which is ridiculous – but hey price for a ticket is a different story). I offer him 50p and I found 30p change in my wallet, but said that’s no help in a very sarcastic voice (lots of “tut tut tut”). When he gave me change, he could have given me the £10 the lady gave her earlier but what did he do? He gave it to me in pound coin, and said “so you will have change for TOMORROW”.
So hard to control myself and not say anything abusive.
Then to the person behind me, he said “are you organised because the person before you give me a £20 note”.
Talking about shit customer service.
You are not forced to do this job.
I don’t know if I should said it’s a good thing or a bad thing, but he made everybody feel the same if they didn’t have change and that’s multiple people on the way to the station, and most of them, female. Everyone looked (and possibly) felt ashamed as he wasn’t quiet and everybody could hear what he said.

The day I decided to not walk, I got a bus driver that made me feel pathetic and it wasn’t even my fault. I didn’t have change. That’s not my fault. I can’t help it. I can’t just go buy something for the sake of having change, when you have the facility to give me change when I get my ticket. If you forgo this option on the bus, I would have had make a point and have change with me. Or if you would sell pre-pay cards not only just to weekly and monthly tickets, I wouldn’t have this problem because I would have made my life easier by getting a pre-paid card and just “beep” onto the bus.
But then it’s probably because as a company you want to make the most money out of everybody and makes people pay more because you can’t charge people who are of retired age.
Did I have this problem with my home council where it is run by the Conservative party?
No. The buses are always on time and there is a flat fee for the trip.
And which council runs the second city?
Fucking Labour.

Also I found it on Reddit that someone has already asked that question.


This is the second time I encounter this driver. I had the same reaction previously when I give him a £5 for a day rider at £4.10 (which was more acceptable than a £20 for a £3.30 ticket, I have to admit).