Posted in Life in Second City, Page, Rambling

Play pretend

When I was caught in the rain and my cardigan was drenched whilst I was picking up the concert tickets from my cousin, I asked if he has a hoodie or a cardigan or a jumper than I could borrow.
He looked as if I was from a different planet, like such things doesn’t exist in his wardrobe.

He’s only 32.
He shouldn’t be behaving like a middle age man who has stop having fun and only have respectable clothes in his wardrobe.
I am eight months and a day older than he is, in a respectable job just like he is, and worked my ass off like he is, indulge in the finer things in life too, and enjoy a good holiday, staying in a five star hotel.
I own multiple hoodies and still wear a onesie on days that I don’t have to go to work.
It’s me being child-like, not childish.

I miss the time when my cousin looks casually chilled and actually having fun, rather than looking as if he’s trying to be properly and accepted by the world as a professional, all the freaking time, 24/7.
He doesn’t know what’s fun is anymore even when we go on holiday last time.
And it’s depressing.

Being “cool” doesn’t needs to be stated out loud.
I never try being “cool” because it always ends in a disaster.
Now I just be myself, because it’s easier and it’s better.
I don’t pretend to be someone I am not anymore.