Posted in Life in Second City, Page, Rambling

Nando’s Friday

Today is a day of “doing a lot of work that was done previously but we fucked up so we have to do it again” day.
The one that went wrong on my front has nothing to do with me but the operation team.
It was a silly mistake, and compare to what I have done previously it’s a very small issue.
On the other hand, for someone who has been doing their job for a long long time, it’s probably a bad silly mistake that they won’t live down.
I didn’t email the team, just them – but they are away until Monday so hopefully they will pick that one up and amend it.
I have been requesting an updated document for months upon months and only today they got back to me.
With the document that was updated, but was not signed officially and never confirmed.
So I have to get them to do it again, and I have to put a note saying that it needed to be done again.
Then there’s the one where I have been requesting for the updated document for months (since May) and they only got back to me today.
But they gave me the updated version without the signatory.
So I have to go back to them for the paperwork again.
I just hope it wouldn’t take another 3 months before they come back to me.

Two people are leaving from the company (again).
Both of them are going to industries rather than working in a consulting company.
I understand why they want to leave, because I love withi in industries, but I have to take the lap into consulting just to get the managerial experience and the title just so that I can move onwards and upwards.

For some very odd reason I craved really bad food, so I decided to grab the girl who I used to work with (who went out dancing with me through the night – the only one in the second city) and we headed to Nando’s.
And thank god for Nando’s.
Seriously.
I just need some really unhealthy food (But really deep down, quite healthy) on a Friday night to just get me through.
And it’s always nice just to talk to people and have a laugh anyway.

Midori’s little brother (known as the Child) was going to stay with me tonight to help Midori’s sister, who is moving house tomorrow but the poor child has come down with “some form of black death” (as he said in the text message), which I personally translated as ‘manflu’.
If he’s going into work then it can’t be that bad, that’s what I told him.
I miss my under 26 army.