Posted in Countdown, Page, Rambling

Name a song from your favourite artist

My favourite artist no doubt is the Backstreet Boys.
There’s no denying it.
And one of the songs that I think it’s underrated massively is As Long As You Love Me.
The album was so good, but it was completely overshadowed by Everybody (Backstreet’s Back), which is a great song.

But I still prefer As Long As You Love me.
Mainly because of the music video.
Because I cannot get over the fact how amazing Nick Carter looked back then (Not that he doesn’t look good now – but his blond curtains? ALWAYS going to be my favourite).
And it’s a cute song.
It was the best era for boybands and pop music, everything sounds pretty and no one is angry with anybody.
There might be a few songs where it’s a messy break up, but they are more angry with themselves rather than blaming it on someone else.

And as for Japanese, it’s Ai no Katamari (愛のかたまり) – KinKi Kids:

This song has been declared as the love song (love child?) of Kinki Kids. It’s a ballad with a dance beat (The routine is a flawless flow).
The song dates back to 2001, and it is still a classic amongst the fans.
Akanishi did it with Ryo at Dream Boy back in the days, and he did it with Kamenashi throughout Shounen Club when they hosted it.
Yamada Ryosuke covered it in his solo single, and though he sings well, and I am sure he sang it multiple times as a junior (it’s a popular song to sing as juniors), but it’s just not the same as the original.
Or maybe I am just biased when it comes to Kinki Kids.

It’s weird, because Backstreet Boys are no longer boys (they are all dads now), and Kinki Kids are no longer kids.
I am no longer a teenager that listen to their songs and think it’s just a beautiful melody and I start to understand more about the lyrics.
Sometimes I do which I am still that innocent though.