Posted in Uncategorized

No rest for the wicked

I am pretty sure I have used “no rest for the wicked” before as a title to a blog.

Because this is one of those where it applies to my job nearly everyday.

I’ve been back in the office for the last 3 days already and it’s been absolutely crazy and it’s all because of the Scottish bitch and a half.

It feels like whoever screams first and screams the loudest is right.
There was missing information at the handover and there is no grace period.
There was too much information missing and we are blamed for not “handling” the issues.

Everything is urgent, and everything needs to be done now.

My team is stressed, and my team are doing as much as they can and people are just asking for more and more when it is not physically possible for them to do anymore than they have already.

And whilst I was away for 2 working weeks in December, those horrible people took advantage of them and asked them to do all sorts of things in an unrealistic timeline and when they said no, people are complaining that they aren’t doing their job properly.

One of the crazy things that I saw today was that an email was sent on 22nd December at quarter to five in the afternoon, when the office closed at midday that day for he rest of the month, and we didn’t go back to work until last Tuesday.
They want it done by tomorrow.
4 days.
That is an unrealistic timeline and when I push back and said “no this is not possible”, I get told that it is not an acceptable answer.

I turned around and told them “tough luck”.

No doubt I will get shitloads of bollocking, but the fact that the timeline is unrealistic, and these people requesting things done sit in India and they have no idea the amount of work that we do.

 

We aren’t only working for them and they outsourced because their system and processes are fucked up, and they don’t understand that.

Also we are working to help them, and not against them. They have to understand too but it doesn’t seem to have gotten through to their stupidly thick skull.

At least it’s Friday tomorrow and we can have the weekend to get over it – there is always hope right?

And as I have said over and over again in 2017… “everything will be fine”, “I’ll be fine”, “it’ll be fine”.