Posted in New Year's Ask, Uncategorized

Looking back on 2017

Standard questions from last year…

1: What did you do in 2017 that you’d never done before?
Fired someone, and watch Johnny’s in concert.

2: Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?
My new year’s resolutions for 2017 was:
1. I want to get fit and do a half marathon (again)
2. Travel more
3. Get at least one tattoo that was on my list

I did one thing on my new year’s resolution, which is travel more.
I definitely travel a lot more this year, despite the fact that it is mostly for work.
I have got plans for 1 tattoo this year (2018), but I’d like to get more but it’s a matter of squeezing some time for that.

Getting fit was difficult because whilst I was travelling I couldn’t possibly keep myself as fit as I could; there’s a lot of sitting around and waiting and also drinking way too much caffaine to keep me awake and alert enough to do my job.
And the half-marathon… I think I’ll leave it on the list for now.

3: Did anyone close to you give birth?
Not that I can remember, which is disturbing because I am sure there were babies left right and centre.

4: Did anyone close to you die?
Uncle Billy, who died just after 100. He was actually GREAT uncle Billy, but he prefers just uncle Billy. He was the life and soul of a party and one of the sweetest old men I have ever known.

5: What countries did you visit?
This year – Italy (for work, but I did some wandering), France (regularly but also for fun), Belgium, Spain (Well, Mallorca), Denmark, Finland and Japan.

6: What would you like to have in 2017 that you lacked in 2018?
The usual for me – Real romance that is going to last forever.

7: What dates from 2017 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?
JUMP in Dome.
Kinki in Dome.
Arashi in Dome.

8: What was your biggest achievement of the year?
Firing someone.

9: What was your biggest failure?
Work. I didn’t think I failed but apparently I did. I overestimated myself.

10: Did you suffer illness or injury?
The bloody Asian flu whilst I was on holiday. I feel so ill.

11: What was the best thing you bought?
Concert merchandise – because I wouldn’t be able to get it if I wasn’t in Japan.

12: Whose behaviour merited celebration?
Chris Hemsworth. He’s just the sweetest, funniest and cutest.

13: Whose behaviour made you appalled?
The Kadashians. Always.

14: Where did most of your money go?
First half of the year was rent, second half of the year was useless stuff and designer goods which was an indulgence because I was working way too hard.

15: What did you get really, really, really excited about?
JUMP, Arashi and Kinki in Dome.

16: What song will always remind you of 2016?
Pigs can Fly.
H.our Time and I/O.

17: Compared to this time last year, are you: (a) happier or sadder? (b) thinner or fatter? (c) richer or poorer?
a) Happier – 2017 started well enough but now I feel like I am at the worst part (still).
b) Fatter – I moved home, that was the end of my fitness thing.
c) richer – I got a promotion officially (and finally) and also doesn’t have to spend it on rent.

18: What do you wish you’d done more of?
Exercise.

19: What do you wish you’d done less of?
Work.

20: How did you spend Christmas?
I went to Karuizawa and went up the mountains.

21: Did you fall in love in 2016?
I’m always in love – but I am not in love with anybody.

22: What was your favourite TV program?
Itadaki High Jump.
Still.

23: Do you hate anyone now that you didn’t hate this time last year?
Yes. The Scottish bitch that I worked with the second half other year. I’d kill her if I could.

24: What was the best book you read?
Pink and Gray.

25: What was your greatest musical discovery?
Nothing. I am still listening to the same old stuff.

26: What did you want and get?
A long cashmere cardigan that costed way too much according to everybody but it was so worth it.

27: What did you want and not get?
Everything else.

28: What was your favourite film of this year?
Thor Ragnorok.

29: What one thing made your year immeasurably more satisfying?
Being away from work for 3 weeks.
That felt good.

30: How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2017?
Nothing changes but I have fallen in love with deep lipstick colours.

31: What kept you sane?
Music and Japanese TV shows.

32: Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?
Kato Shigeaki.

33: What political issue stirred you the most?
Kim Jong-Il and of course the idiot named Donald Trump.

34: Who did you miss?
Grandma, always.

35: Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2017.
Don’t spend your life working because it’s not worth it – there is always more work.

36: Quote a song lyric that sums up your year.

大事なもの守りたいだけ
なのになぜ傷つけてしまうんだろう

So to conclude 2016:
January: Nothing major happened.
February: Milan. I love Milan.
March: Nothing major happened except for a friend who has become very needy.
April: Fucking Koreans.
May: Dead Macbook.
June: Crossed the English Channel 5 times in a span of a week, on all 3 transport!
July: The start of travelling for work…
August: Travelling for work…
September: Travelling for work…
October: A week off and I went to Majorca.
November: The dreaded flu
December: JAPAN!